Say famous scenery things, stories, pictures, wallpapers
Say famous


    Building    Museum    Playground    Universe    

Caribbean coast

Caribbean coast (Picture 1)


The Caribbean Sea is a marginal sea in the western Atlantic Ocean. The west and south are adjacent to Central and South America, and the north and east are bounded by the Greater and Lesser Antilles. Its scope is: from the Catoche corner of the Yucatan Peninsula, clockwise through the Yucatan Strait to Cuba, to Hispaniola (Haiti, Dominican Republic), Puerto Rico, Via the Anegada Strait to the Lesser Antilles, and along the line of these islands to the line of the Baya Point in Venezuela. The Yucatán Channel Gap is the boundary between the Caribbean Sea and the Gulf of Mexico. The Caribbean Sea is approximately 2735 kilometers long from east to west, and is 805-1287 kilometers wide from north to south. It has a total area of ​​2.754 million square kilometers, a volume of 6.86 million cubic kilometers, and an average water depth of 2491 meters. The maximum known water depth is 7,100 meters, located in the Cayman Trench.

The Caribbean Sea is almost surrounded by the Central and South American continent and the large and small Antilles. The northwest is connected to the Gulf of Mexico through the Strait of Yucatan. It is about 2,800 kilometers long from east to west, about 1400 kilometers from the widest point from north to south, and covers an area of ​​2.64 million square kilometers. It is the largest inland sea in the world. The Caribbean Sea is also the largest coastal country. Of the more than 50 seas in the world, only two of the coastal countries have double-digits in the Mediterranean and the Caribbean. There are 17 coastal states in the Mediterranean and 20 in the Caribbean, including Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Panama in Central America, Colombia and Venezuela in South America, Cuba in the Greater Antilles, Haiti, the Dominican Republic, and Lesser Antioch. Antigua and Barbuda on the Antilles, Dominican Federation, Trinidad and Tobago, etc.

The Association of Caribbean States was formally established on July 24, 1994, after the presidents, heads of government or foreign ministers of 25 countries in the Caribbean region and 12 unindependent regions signed in Cartagena, Colombia. The alliance is an intergovernmental coordination, negotiation and cooperation institution. Its main purpose is to strengthen cooperation among member states in various fields such as politics, economy, culture, science and society, promote economic and social development, and maintain the region's international economic and trade organization. China's interests, realizing regional economic integration, and ultimately establishing a vast free trade area. At its core is the Caribbean Community. The Association of Caribbean States has identified tourism, trade, and transportation as the first projects to strengthen cooperation and prioritize development in the region, and has formulated a specific "action plan." This is a choice made by the Caribbean countries based on the actual situation of economic development in the region. Tourism, trade, and transportation are the basic economic sectors that complement each other in the Caribbean countries. The development of these three sectors will promote the development of other economic sectors and lay the foundation for other countries in the region to develop other aspects of cooperation in the future. The establishment of the Association of Caribbean States has begun a new era of development in the Caribbean.

  Previous article:  
  Next article:  
Advertising section
About us   Disclaimers   Privacy policy   © 2021   Mobile version